Twelve Dark Nights of Christmas

It’s not a surprise that what I want most for Christmas is a dark night, a dark room, howling winds and a screening of American Mary by the brilliant Soska Sisters. Here is my poetic tribute to one of our tritest carols. Most of it scans like the original so you can sing along to make those get togethers that push you to the edge a little more bearable. I hope you enjoy, and stay safe, everyone, at this most melancholy time of year xxx

On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me
A screening of American Mary

On the second day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the third day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the fourth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

American-Mary_Poster-SC

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Seven neutral pronouns
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Eight transgressive stanzas
Seven neutral pronouns
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Nine steganographias
Eight transgressive stanzas
Seven neutral pronouns
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Ten self medications
Nine steganographias
Eight transgressive stanzas
Seven neutral pronouns
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Eleven heretical syllables
Ten self medications
Nine steganographias
Eight transgressive stanzas
Seven neutral pronouns
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

On the twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me
Twelve safe spaces for the dispossessed
Eleven heretical syllables
Ten self medications
Nine steganographias
Eight transgressive stanzas
Seven neutral pronouns
Six lost souls remembered
Five dark nights of the soul
Four nipple clamps
Three body piercings
Two leather whips
And a screening of American Mary

Leave a Reply

