The First Run

So, it’s two weeks after the big row, and that means it’s time for the Blenheim 10k. My first ever organised run. I’ve been doing my very best in the interim to manoeuvre my body gently from rowing to running. The hamstrings have been proving somewhat reluctant and after 4 walk/run sessions last week I finally gave in and decided to give the hamstring a complete week’s rest, spending this week rowing and speed walking. I’ve learned that my leg may or may not be ready to run, but even if it’s not, I will be able to walk round quick enough not to be last.

This weekend’s run has been given added impetus y the fact it now has a very definite purpose. The race is organised by the British Heart Foundation, and they do a wonderful job. But I am running/walking this for The Brain Tumour Charity. I would be hugely grateful to anyone who is able to and is considering sponsoring someone or something at the moment to consider giving to this wonderful charity, and I would ask you to do so through the page of the “jogging noggins“.  Let me explain a little, although they say it more passionately and eloquently there than I can do.

For the past five years, one of my wife’s closest childhood family friends has suffered from symptoms – seizures and unexplained and unmanageable fatigue – that have been consistently diagnosed as ME/Chronic Fatigue. I have several friends who suffer from these conditions and I know they can be life-changing and unbearably debilitating, but Oliver has always felt that the diagnosis wasn’t quite a good fit for his condition, that it didn’t match what he was experiencing, yet despite testing no one seemed able to offer an alternative diagnosis. He was tested for everything but still nothing came up. The one test he wasn’t given, because, it seems, he didn’t complain of headaches, was a brain scan. It was only when he had a series of seizures and blackouts so bad that he was left hospitalised that he was finally given a scan, and a frontal lobe tumour that had been growing for years was diagnosed. He is being operated on, finally, next week, but inevitably the prognosis is not what it would have been had he been scanned when his symptoms first emerged.

The main reason why his family is raising funds for the Brain Tumour Charity is not just the research they do into this form of cancer but the awareness-raising work it does. If you can’t afford to give, then you can still do invaluable work to help by sharing this post or any other information about the charity – and please, encourage people with similar unexplained symptoms to request a scan. If we can give one person a better chance of a better quality of life, that would be amazing.

Do read more on the Jogging Noggins page about the fundraising that Oliver’s 13 year-old daughter Hannah is doing – she is doing a run this month, please think of her or support her.

The runs I do from now up to and including next summer’s Race To The Stones I will be doing for The Brain Tumour Charity.

One thought on “The First Run

Leave a Reply

